Shadows and Symbolists

I created this portrait with a more atmospheric texture to emphasise the fantasy quality of the image.  I have always loved the artwork by Symbolist painter George Watts, titled “Hope”, 1886.  I was very moved by the enigmatic presence of this blindfolded girl clutching to a single string lyre, as I stood in front of it at the Tate gallery in London.  She sits alone on a globe, beautiful and serene.  In my photograph, I wanted to bring across that mythological and regal feelings from Watts’s artwork.  The model Rachel worked beautifully to express the still and powerful presence of the character.

I didn’t include this image with the Shadows and Light set of images as I felt it worked better on its own.  I’ll let you decide if that was a good choice or not.

Below is the painting, “Hope” by George Watts…

Leave a Reply

